Skip to content

This Just In!

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Extra! Extra! Congratulations are in order.  Stephen “RG” has just made a giant leap, from a Modern-only Vespa owner to a Vintage/Modern Vespa owner, with the purchase of a ’79 Vespa 200E, formerly of the massive Paul Hauser ([SIC]) scooter stable in DeRidder, LA.  Here is the very lovely yellow “project” Vespa from our photo files taken at last year’s Who Day celebration.–Lorenzo

Yellow Vespa finds a new home in Beaumont, Texas

That's the one!

Awaiting resurrection

"Amerivespa 2010--San Antonio, here I come!", sez Yellow Vespa quietly...

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday, January 25, 2010 12:13 am

    How big of a project are we talking about here?

    __Orin
    Scootin’ Old Skool

    • Monday, January 25, 2010 5:49 pm

      Apparently he’s gonna have it ready for Amerivespa, so stay tuned…
      _Lorenzo

  2. Who's this RG person? permalink
    Monday, January 25, 2010 8:50 am

    I don’t know about histroy making, but it’s pretty darn cool… If you ask me.

    • Monday, January 25, 2010 5:52 pm

      You damn right, it’s cool! So cool, it’s sub-zero!
      _Lorenzo

  3. Who's this RG person? permalink
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 8:16 am

    Would you believe the first thing I did was drop it and bend up the faring? Damn, another dent to bang out.

    Long term it’s a pretty big project for me, since I have limited mechanical experience with engines, but I’m up for the challenge. I want to get it running first and foremost.

    First step is to get a new gas tank and fuel valve and tap, since this one has none. They tell me you have to put gas in these things, so that seems a good place to start.

    I’ve got what feels like pretty good compression when you kick it so I ‘m hoping with a little gas in there it might fire up with a few adjustments. Money is a little tight with the initial payout, so I’m going to work on things that won’t cost anything.

    First, I’m going to fix the center stans so it will sit upright and more stable, then who knows. I might tear into the carb and give it a good cleaning.

    One way or another I’ll be piddling with it.

    • Tuesday, January 26, 2010 6:41 pm

      The learning curve is steep; yet ever so rewarding.
      Since you have already experienced the “down”; I guess things would be looking up from now.
      _Lorenzo

Leave a Reply

