Skip to content

TOD (Day 1) 8:30pm, Clinton, MS

Friday, September 11, 2009

After 8 hrs (7 of which in driving rain) and 304 miles later, we got off the beautiful, misty, almost dream-like Natchez Trace Parkway, fueled up at a nearby Texaco and checked into the Best Western in Clinton, MS. Andrew, Jolenta and Chuck of the Houston/USR were already there waiting for us.  Dinner was casual at the Applebee’s adjacent to the hotel.  I ordered the shrimp with steak, or was it the other way around because the only thing I ate all day was a bowl of oatmeal. 

Riding all day in the rain was something new for me; but it turned out to be rather pleasurable since I had all the necessary gear for the job and they all performed extremely well to keep me dry and happy. The temp fluctuated between the mid-80’s to the mid-70’s, and when we maintained a comfortable cruising speed of 65-mph, there was so much ventilation going on inside the rainsuit that you would think a window unit A/C was attached to my back.  I must add that the the $3 tiny bottle of Fog-Off is the best little dang money that I’ve ever spent. It kept the inside of the faceshield of my Arai Quantum II helmet completely fogless for the entire day!

A very educational day today riding in the rain, a lot of patience and learning the limits of what one can and cannot do in such situation.   Tomorrow could be close to a 500-mile day if we’re gonna make it to Tellico Plains in just one day so I better sign off now. Breakfast is 7am at Shoney’s (Ed’s favorite). 🙂 —Lorenzo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bruce permalink
    Saturday, September 12, 2009 8:55 am

    Thanks for the update. I didn’t think you were going to post while you were gone. Now I am pumped to get some updates. Hope you guys have a good ride today. Is Ed behaving?

    • Saturday, September 12, 2009 8:02 pm

      Ed is Ed, you know, misbehavin’ as usual. He was gonna smuggle that cute waitress back to Texas tonight, if we hadn’t stopped him.
      I didn’t bring a computer, just lucky to find one where we have been staying so I will post as much as we can so stay tuned. Sorry, no pics ’till later. I will have to just update posts with piss, no, I meant pics.
      _Lorenzo

Leave a Reply

