Skip to content

Michelin Pilot City Reviewed by Stephen RG

Friday, May 29, 2009

Michelin Pilot® City

Who knew changing tires could make such a HUGE difference? After my fourth set of tires in just over two years (The worst luck imaginable) I’ve found what seems to be a MIRACLE CURE for my GT200L (actually I never knew it was ill). The original stock Pirellis had to be replaced just after I bought the scooter used. They had bad dry rot/cracking and I didn’t feel safe. This was my first Modern Vespa experience so I had nothing to compare them to. Seemed OK though. The second set, Michelin Pilot Sport SC, I had on for just over a week before I got 3 flats (two in the back at once, and later one in the front, both irreparable) I was really digging the sticky feeling I got in the curves so I replaced them with the same tire.

Well after more bad luck, another puncture in the front which leaked continuously after being plugged, and a slash in the rear tire, I decided to try something a little different. Liking the Michelins I decided to go with the PILOT CITY.  OH, WHAT A DIFFERENCE! It’s as if I’m riding a completely different scooter. Since My GT200L is the only only Modern Vespa I have ever ridden, I had no way of knowing what the ride could feel like. Since putting on the Pilot Citys though, the dreaded “WOBBLE” is completely gone. I never realized, until now, just how much I was having to maintain control of the scooter. Once again, with nothing to compare it to, I just thought that was the way it was. Now, with the new tires though, I feel like I’m in total control without even trying. The scooter holds a line much better. I even went so far as taking my hands off the bars for a moment to see how it reacted, and it didn’t — it kept on straight as an arrow. Also, cornering is a dream. Before, I always felt I was fighting to make it through a turn. Now I’m just gliding through. They still have that sticky sport tire feeling, too. I’m just kind of blown away. Sorry to ramble on, but I am completely ecstatic about my new tires. WOO HOO! Who knew a tread pattern could make so much difference. Has anyone else had a similar experience? —Stephen “RG”

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, May 30, 2009 3:08 pm

    Great article RG!! I have the Michelin Pilot City on the back wheel of my LX150 and I love it, too!

    • Saturday, May 30, 2009 8:34 pm

      How about the front? You could double the love??

  2. scootswla permalink
    Tuesday, June 2, 2009 9:35 am

    I usually run Continental Navigators on the Vespas but I think I’d like to try these on the Kymco. Did you order the tires or where did you find them locally?

    • Stephen permalink
      Tuesday, June 2, 2009 11:05 pm

      Hay Man,
      I ordered them from http://www.motorcyclesuperstore.com

      79.00 for the pair, with free shipping. Unfortunately i had to pay a WHOPPING 86 bucks to get them installed. OUCH!

      I’m thinking of buying a Harbor freight tire install rig for 100.00 next time.

  3. Larry permalink
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 6:05 pm

    Not knowing any better, I ordered a dunlop from the Honda dealer in LC for a cost of $117. To mount and balance the rear tire with the wheel already off is another $50. I never thought about ordering from the net until the purchased had already been made, live and learn. They wanted a wopping $175 to remove wheel and install tire so I removed the rear wheel myself.

    • Wednesday, June 17, 2009 6:15 pm

      Having more options online is always a good thing. As far as the tire change itself, well… just think you could be enjoying a beer, or two while someone is doing it for you. A relaxing cool-down for you, plus you’re helping someone hold down his job (in this economy). Nothing better than that, right?–Lorenzo

  4. Stephen permalink
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 7:19 pm

    Yeah the labor charges are a drag. I paid 86 bucks to have the front and rear mounted off the bike. I’m seriously considering buying the Harbor Freight mini tire changer before the next time I need tires.

  5. Wednesday, June 17, 2009 9:05 pm

    What’s up, Stephen! At the rate you’re wearing out tires, they should give you a dozen-rate. BTW, who charged you $86 for the tire-mountings, just curious?
    _Lorenzo

    • Stephen permalink
      Wednesday, June 17, 2009 9:42 pm

      Cowboy Honda.
      I originally took them to GT Powersports because they used to charge 22.00 a wheel, but now that they have a new building with huge overhead they were going to charge 108.00!!!!!! Screw that!

  6. Saturday, June 20, 2009 8:56 pm

    Hey, Stephen

    Check out this light-weight tire mounting tool from SIP; or there’s always Harbor Freight.

Leave a Reply

