Skip to content

Scooter Review: SYM HD200 by Ed

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Apollo Scooters of Houston loaned me a SYM HD200 scooter for a group ride in the Texas Hill Country.  The group consisted of one SYM 200, three Suzuki Bourgman 400’s, one Yamaha Majesty 400, one Piaggio MP3 500 and two motorcycles.  I was the smallest ride in the pack…

Heading toward the Hill Country

Heading toward the Hill Country

We rode the Hill Country for two days.  I rode with the group the first day but kept the scooter below 55-mph and could not keep up when the larger scooters were running 70-MPH on the straightaways; but they were holding me up in the curves so I elected to ride solo the next day.  The second day was much better and I was able to really enjoy the SYM in the curves.

I was impressed with this scooter for many reasons and would like to share them with you:

A. The scooter had very good acceleration from a standstill and has good acceleration up to 55-MPH.

B.  There was no hesitation when accelerating at low speed.

C. The scooter is well-balanced and very easy to ride.

D. Easy to put on center stand.

E. The instrument panel is well-lit and easy to read at night.

F. The scooter started with no throttle the instant the start button was pushed .

G. The brakes were good but I never had to really do any hard braking.

H. I liked the gasoline filler cap.  It was not under the seat.

I.  The coolant level could be seen (through the little window) without removing any panels.

J.  The scooter got 75 MPG through the curves and the hills at 55-MPH.

K.  I am 5-ft 10-inches tall with a 32-inch inseam and the seat fits me perfectly.

L. The stock windshield is adequate with ear plugs. I have a half-helmet and the wind noise was high without     earplugs.

Now for the items that could be improved on with accessories:

1.  A seat cushion for long rides.

2.  A larger windshield .

I do not know why anyone would want to buy a 49cc scooter when for just a little more they could have a HD200.  This scooter could be the first scooter and you may never need to move up.  I believe this scooter is capable of running 70-mph and I would not be afraid to run it on the interstate for a short distance if it was legal.  If a person needs to move up there is the SYM Citycom 300i. I do believe that Honda and Yamaha may have some strong competition from this scooter.

These are just my opinions and it is worth what you paid for it.–Ed Weaver

10 Comments leave one →
  1. tswcbyy08 permalink
    Wednesday, November 12, 2008 3:11 am

    very good

  2. Ben permalink
    Wednesday, November 12, 2008 8:51 am

    It’s not legal to ride it on the highways?

    • Monday, March 14, 2016 11:12 pm

      It has a top end of 73 mph corrected. I legally ride mine for short distances on expressways

  3. wm ligon permalink
    Wednesday, November 12, 2008 3:05 pm

    I just bought the RV250 and can’t wait for it to arrive…..Really enjoyed your review….

  4. Wednesday, November 12, 2008 4:22 pm

    Nice review.

  5. Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:12 pm

    Ben,

    Ed is pretty sure that the law in Texas says that in order to ride on the interstate highways, the scooter must be at least 250cc or above. I will look into that or ask where Ed got his information.

    wm ligon,

    That RV250 is pretty awesome! I was cruising smoothly down the interstate here, enjoying my little test ride, when I looked down and saw the speedo and it said “95” and only then did I throttle down.

    Thank you all for the comments.–Lorenzo

  6. Thursday, November 13, 2008 5:48 am

    u r blog Is very nice

  7. Thursday, November 13, 2008 2:08 pm

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog,thanks for sharing

  8. John permalink
    Thursday, May 20, 2010 1:03 pm

    Hey I have the 2006 SYM hd200 with 10257 Kmh that is like 6300 miles on the bike and it runs great never had any problems with the scooter. In Idaho I ride it right down the freeway but Idaho law says that you must be able to go the speed of traffic I have no problem at 70mph. I have had the bike up to 80MPH but I think that the speedo is off a little and people say the speedo’s tend to be like 6 to 7 % off so like 75 MPH maxed out, but if you have a big head wind you could drop all the way to 65 pretty easy. I love the bike I hope Sym comes out with the same body style but with a 249cc engine and that would be sweet. I would highly recommend the bike and everyone that I have let ride the scooter is amazed. My brother rode Sym hd200 and he weighs 300 lbs and he was able to go 70MPH on the freeway with no problems either. My fiancee is selling her Genuine buddy 125 and is upgrading to the Hd200 after riding mine and I expect that she will be able to get that thing going faster then mine she weighs 125 lbs. Be sure to Google Sym hd200 fire drake that guy has done several mods to his and his bike goes over 80 mph and he has used a GPS to make sure he was going that fast. plus he has a lot of tips and tricks to make the bike more visable.

    • Thursday, May 20, 2010 7:11 pm

      Thank you for the interesting comment.
      That HD200 is one very capable machine.
      Remembering taking it for a test-ride… Hit the on-ramp and, WOW!, doing 70 already!
      Have fun!

      _Lorenzo

Leave a Reply

