Skip to content

Dumpster Juice Will Ruin Your Ride

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Stephen “RG”, SCGT member and Modern Vespa maven (aka astromag) wrote recently about his unbelievable experience riding in the city.  When I first read it on MV, I thought that it was just too good and universal that I must share.  So here is the entire article in graphic details reprinted with permission from the author.  Enjoy, and hopefully we can all learn something valuable from his awful misfortune.–Lorenzo  

“I ride my scooter almost every day, unless it looks like rain. Today was no exception, a mostly-sunny day, in the low 90’s.  I had a little time to kill on my lunch hour today so I decided to take a little ride around town.  (Read on…)

 

I headed towards a favorite, nearby street that has lots of twists and turns, cutting through tall oak trees.  I was traveling to my destination and I had to make a quick shot down College St., a 6-lane, two-way section of Highway 90 that runs through town.  There was quite a bit of lunch-hour traffic so I wanted to get off this road as quickly as possible. Soon I found myself in the center lane, boxed in by vehicles on all sides.  Unfortunately for me the vehicle just ahead of me was a big front-loading garbage truck. The smell of that thing could have driven a horde of maggots off a gut wagon.  There I was with nowhere to go but straight ahead. I was trying like hell to get out of this predicament but traffic was moving along at a steady pace.

I was trapped and I couldn’t hold my breath much longer.  Just as I exhaled to take in another foul lung-full, the behemoth ahead of me hit a bump in the road, releasing a shower of dumpster juice into the air and of course into my path and all over me and my scooter.  As we continued onward the truck bile was pouring forth from the belly of this beast like a waterfall, continuing to spray me and the other motorists.  Finally everyone was slowing down and trying to get out out of the way and I seized my opportunity to get the hell out of there. 

Needless to say there was no way I could return to the office smelling like the Toxic Avenger. I had to head to the house for a quick shower and a change of clothes.

My pleasant afternoon ride down the avenue of oaks would have to wait ’til another day.”–astromag (know to us as Stephen “RG”)

Photo:  RG

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Denny permalink
    Tuesday, August 12, 2008 8:34 pm

    That is NASTY!

  2. Paul permalink
    Thursday, August 14, 2008 11:46 am

    Way worse than NASTY. Put that close to the top of your list of things that suck.

  3. Saturday, August 23, 2008 9:23 am

    Wow. There’s an image that will stay with me ALL DAY.

  4. astromags permalink
    Monday, August 25, 2008 11:15 am

    BEWARE of DUMPSTER JUICE!

  5. Monday, August 25, 2008 8:33 pm

    Reader Testimony #1:

    Thanks to RG and his timely warning about the “dumpster juice” I was able to steer clear of such an impending disaster recently. Appreciate his sharing of such a horrific and personal experience.

    Lorenzo

Leave a Reply

